In yo’ face.

Surprise! I started a blog!

When I sat down to write my New Years resolution this year, I struggled to pinpoint  something I was willing to focus on this year. Yes, I need to lose weight, get in shape, pay off debts…. Yada Yada Yada….(what’s new?) None of these things are specific enough to satisfy me right now. What I really want is a reawakening of my old self; the girl I used to be before life happened.

Don’t get me wrong; I have a great life.  I’m 40 years old. I have a devoted husband, two amazing kids, and a dog who loves me. I have a fulfilling career and my spiritual life is good. The thing is, I am in a rut. My idea of a fun time is curling up with a good book and a glass of wine by the fire ALONE. Shopping ALONE. Going to the library ALONE. Grabbing a cup of coffee from Starbucks ALONE. Notice the pattern?

So here’s my goal for 2017: Connect with people again! I have many friends who I rarely see or talk to. I want to be more intentional about making those important connections. So, get ready to see me more. Coffee dates, game nights, lunch meetings, wine tastings, road trips; you name it. Friends from afar, never fear! I will be sending texts, snap chats, Facebook messages, or whatever it takes to stay in touch.

As with all resolutions, it is best to make gradual changes in order to develop new patterns. I’m starting with something I’ve had every intention to do and that is to write a blog. I’ve done various forms of this over the years, but haven’t really stuck with it or honed in on any particular area. As a kid, I kept a journal. In high school I had my own column in the newspaper. I had a digital journal when my kids were younger. Then, myspace. Now, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and more… I feel this is a good time to start back up again and be INTENTIONAL about something. It’s a pretty big step for me because I am not what you would consider a creative writer; I’m a technical writer through and through. That’s what always makes me abandon these types of things. So, I apologize in advance for not-so-funny posts about psychological thrillers, true crime podcasts, and decorating my bookshelves.

But wait! There’s more! I’m starting a book club. (See what I did there?) I contacted some of my reader friends and formed a group of like-minded people who enjoy a bit of intellectual conversation…okay so that might be a lie. Basically, I promised coffee and sweets and a couple hours a month of “me time.” Worked like a charm!

I fully expect to be over this whole idea by April but I am trying to keep an open mind and let this evolve on its own. I think it’s easy to let ourselves stay in the same old routine year after year. When I think of all the time I’ve wasted it makes me depressed. I never thought I’d end up this way. The best memories of my life are with my people, not when I’m alone. It’s time to change that. I intentionally chose the book club and the blog to be a joint effort towards getting out of my comfort zone. What better way to ease into something than to combine my passion with my goal? Everyone wins.

Now, don’t think I haven’t made a color-coded spreadsheet with charts and graphs to organize this entire process. (Do you even know me?) I won’t bore you with the details here, but know that it’s freakin fantastic and I plan to document everything along the way. I invite you to follow along and keep me honest!

 

Leave a Reply

