Every Last Lie

Mary Kubica published her first book just 3 short years ago, in 2014. The Good Girl became a bestseller – and I eagerly devoured it. I was thrilled (pun intended) to find an author in the thriller genre who could write well without being cheesy. Since then, she’s churned out three more thrillers, and she’s grown to be a favorite author in that genre. Personally, I didn’t care much for her last two books, Pretty Baby and Don’t You Cry, so, I gotta admit, I was apprehensive about this one.

The publisher synopsis goes like this.

Clara Solberg’s world shatters when her husband and their four-year-old daughter are in a car crash, killing Nick while Maisie is remarkably unharmed. The crash is ruled an accident…until the coming days, when Maisie starts having night terrors that make Clara question what really happened on that fateful afternoon. 

Tormented by grief and her obsession that Nick’s death was far more than just an accident, Clara is plunged into a desperate hunt for the truth. Who would have wanted Nick dead? And, more important, why? Clara will stop at nothing to find out—and the truth is only the beginning of this twisted tale of secrets and deceit. 

Told in the alternating perspectives of Clara’s investigation and Nick’s last months leading up to the crash, master of suspense Mary Kubica weaves her most chilling thriller to date—one that explores the dark recesses of a mind plagued by grief and shows that some secrets might be better left buried.

Oh. My. Lanta.  This book got me. It gave me all the feels. The synopsis doesn’t mention this but she had just had a baby 4 days before! So here she is– hormonal, sleep-deprived, and overwhelmed — but then she has to deal with losing her husband in this way. I can’t even. She made so many mistakes in handling this, but who wouldn’t? On top of all that, her mother has Alzheimer’s, her dad tries to help but he has his own worries, and the dental practice her husband owned is struggling to stay afloat. The troubles mount up one after the other as you read and this poor woman can’t catch a break. My heart broke for her. I caught myself praying for this woman numerous times before I realized this is FICTION.

I liked the alternating voices telling the story; I think it added to the suspense. I was engaged from the beginning. I also felt like I was getting to know the characters on a personal level. I sympathized with both of them this way.

To sum it all up, there are a few things left unresolved at the end, but it could be intentional. If anybody knows Ms. Kubica, give me her number. Drinks are on me! In all seriousness, though, I raced through this book so fast because I couldn’t wait to get to the ending. It is highly likely that I could have missed key details. (Maybe I should read it again.) If you are a fan of Paula Hawkins, Gilly Macmillan, Kimberly McCreight, (and yes, I’ll say it) Gillian Flynn, then you’d like this one. I think this one will surpass her first novel.

Goodreads rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received an advanced copy of Every Last Lie from NetGalley, which is why I’m able to provide a review before it is released. You can purchase this book on June 27, 2017.

 

 

Leave a Reply

