Down the TBR Hole #1

TBRI’m a new blogger, but I’m noticing a trend toward using memes or tags to prompt weekly posts. This one drew me in, as I recently discovered I have over 500 books on my Goodreads TBR and there is no way I can continue to add to this shelf and actually read all of the titles! I started using Goodreads over 7 years ago, and my reading life has changed quite a bit from the time I started using this tracking method. Some of them have to go…Why not make it fun? This meme was created by Lia @ Lost in a Story.
HOW IT WORKS
• Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
• Order on ascending date added.
• Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
• Read the synopses of the books
• Decide: keep it or let it go?

 

THE BOOKS
SecretHistoryThe Secret History by Donna Tartt
I added this years ago, and I’m pretty sure I even started reading it but couldn’t get into it. Truth is, I think you have to be willing to commit to her books. This novel is about murder among a group of college students at an elite school. Sounds like my type of story – except I usually prefer a faster-paced thriller. I liked The Goldfinch, but it was laborious and, at times, boring. The only reason I have kept this one on my TBR so long is because I hear so many people praise her work. I keep thinking I will go back and try it again, but maybe it is time to accept the fact that I’m just not into Tartt.

Decision: Let it go

 

ErikLarsonDevil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America by Erik Larson
Honestly, I have no idea why I haven’t read this yet. It encompasses everything I love in a true crime story! History, Drama, Murder, Mystery. This is not up for debate. It stays.

Decision: Keep It

 

 

 

SongSong Yet Sung by James McBride
Where did this come from? I don’t remember ever adding this. It is a historical fiction set in the antebellum South leading up to the Civil War. The cover is gorgeous (and I have been known to choose a book based on the cover alone) but other than that, the story is outside of my interests at this point.
Decision: Let it go

 

 

winterboneWinter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell
This book was wildly popular a few years ago, which is probably why it is on my TBR. (There’s even a movie starring Jennifer Lawrence!) It’s a short novella in the dark (and beautiful) fiction genre so I could probably read it in a day since that is my genre of choice. Bonus: it is set in the Ozarks! Several of my bookish friends have read it and given it high praise. That’s enough to convince me it should stay.
Decision: Keep it

 

HeLA

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
This is a true story – an example of how medical experimentation in the 1950’s took advantage of poor and minority populations. I love learning about little-known history that shaped the way current day institutions are run. In this case, cells were taken from a poor black tobacco farmer without her knowledge and used to develop many of the vaccines and treatments available today. Her cells have made the scientists millions, and yet she is unable to afford health insurance. To me, this book seems even more relevant in this day and age; HBO just released a movie starring Oprah Winfrey so it’s obviously a winner.
Decision: Keep it

Leave a Reply

