What I’m Reading This Summer

IMG_0358There are so many good reasons to love summer. Road trips. Cookouts. Vacation. Ballgames. Spending time by the water. Lying in the hammock. All activities perfectly suited for reading lots and lots of books.  I find that in summer, my reading preferences change. I look for lighter subject matter, like contemporary fiction that doesn’t make me think too much. After all, my mood is different in summer. This is not the time to start that literary masterpiece. I’m just trying to relax as much as possible while enjoying the sunshine every chance I get. (Gotta get that vitamin D!)

Publishers release new books in April, May, and June in preparation for summer reading. There’s so much buzz these days about our favorite authors’ newest releases that I find it hard to pick and choose which to buy first! (Not to mention, the never-ending TBR backlist which taunts me daily.) That’s why I decided to make a list of what I plan to read over the next three months. Hopefully, this keeps me focused and I don’t waste precious reading time on bad books. Life is too short for that!

The following list is broken down by month and categorized. Note: Some of these are advanced reader copies (ARC) for which I have agreed to read and provide reviews. Watch for those to be released this summer!

June
• The Vanishing Year, Kate Moretti (Book Club)
• The Dry, Jane Harper (Library)
• All the Missing Girls, Megan Miranda (Library)
• The Silent Corner, Dean Koontz (ARC -Publish Date: June 6)
• Lockdown, Laurie R. King (ARC -Publish Date: June 13)
• Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore, Matthew Sullivan (ARC -Publish Date: June 13)

July
• Cocoa Beach, Beatriz Williams (ARC -Publish Date: June 27)
• Into the Water, Paula Hawkins (Library)
• The Secrets She Keeps, Matthew Robotham (ARC -Publish Date: July 11)
• See What I Have Done, Sarah Schmidt (ARC -Publish Date: July 11)
• Eligible, Curtis Sittenfield (Library)
• This Is How It Always Is, Laurie Frankel (Buy)

August
• My Name is Lucy Barton, Elizabeth Strout (Library)
 Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, Winifred Watson (Library)
• Standard Deviation, Katherine Heiny (Buy)
• The Madwoman Upstairs, Catherine Lowell (Library)
• The Accidental Tourist, Anne Tyler (Library)
• I See You, Clare Mackintosh (Library)

**Non-fiction** As time allows…
• Hillbilly Elegy, J.D. Vance (Library)
• Present Over Perfect, Shauna Niequist (Buy)
• A Girl Walks Into a Book, Miranda Pennington (ARC -Publish Date: May 16)
• The Sacrament of Happy, Lisa Harper (ARC -Publish Date: June 1)
• Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud, Anne Helen Peterson (ARC -Publish Date: June 20)
• Wine. All The Time. Marissa A. Ross (ARC -Publish Date: June 27)
• From Holmes to Sherlock, Mattias Bostrom (ARC -Publish Date: Aug 1)

 

 

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Love hearing about what other people will be reading. I’ve just finished a term of my English Literature degree so have been reading some cool books, but now I get to CHOOSE what I’m going to read. First on my list is The Bell Jar. Will probably write a short review on my blog once I’m done reading. Great post! 🙂

    https://tenmoreminutesblog.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

