Down the TBR Hole #2

 

TBRI’m a new blogger, but I’m noticing a trend toward using memes or tags to prompt weekly posts. This one drew me in, as I recently discovered I have over 500 books on my Goodreads TBR and there is no way I can continue to add to this shelf and actually read all of the titles! I started using Goodreads over 7 years ago, and my reading life has changed quite a bit from the time I started using this tracking method. Some of them have to go…Why not make it fun? This meme was created by Lia @ Lost in a Story.

HOW IT WORKS
• Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
• Order on ascending date added.
• Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
• Read the synopses of the books
• Decide: keep it or let it go?

THE BOOKS

gardnerThe Gardner Heist: The True Story of the World’s Largest Unsolved Art Theft by Ulrich Boser

I’m a sucker for true crime history so it’s no surprise that I added this one. However, I can’t see me taking the time to read this anytime soon.

Decision: Let it go

 

orchid  The Orchid House by Lucinda Riley

The synopsis sounds interesting. 1930s, English estate, family secrets. If I’m in the right mood, I enjoy reading about this time period. The reviews on Goodreads aren’t great so ….

Decision: Let it go

 

lostwife  The Lost Wife by Alyson Richman

World War II romance? Yes, please! Plus, I own this so I will definitely read it at some point.

Decision: Keep it

 

evidence  The Book of Evidence by John Banville

This one is really intriguing. It is basically a confession of murder in the form of a novel. It was short-listed for the Booker Prize and, from what I’ve heard, is an impressive piece of work. Given its dark qualities, I don’t see myself reading it in the summer, when I tend to stick to lighter subjects, but I will definitely read it at some point.

Decision: Keep it

 

birdsongBirdsong by Sebastian Faulks

When I see books like this on my list, I have to wonder what my rationale was when I added it. It’s basically a Harlequin romance set in World War I. I hear it has international acclaim as one of the greats but I honestly have no desire to read anything like this.

Decision: Let it go

 

Leave a Reply

