Down the TBR Hole #3

TBR

I recently discovered I have over 500 books on my Goodreads To Be Read pile and there is no way I can continue to add to this shelf and actually read all of the titles! I started using Goodreads over 7 years ago, and my reading life has changed quite a bit from the time I started using this tracking method. Some of them have to go…Why not make it fun? This meme was created by Lia @ Lost in a Story.

HOW IT WORKS

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or more if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or let it go?

THE BOOKS
screw Turn of the Screw by Henry James – This is the author who gave us Isabel Archer (one of my favorite classic heroines) so I have no doubt I will love this one. I own it so I will undoubtedly read it someday.

Decision: Keep it

 

 

nightNight by Elie Wiesel – A memoir by a Nazi concentration camp survivor. I’m told it is a must-read for all humans. I will read this for sure.

Decision: Keep it

 

 

udolphoThe Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe  – A Gothic Romance written in the 1800s sounds like something I would curl up with by the fire on a cold winter day.

Decision: Keep it

 

womanThe Woman in Black by Susan Hill – Gothic Thriller (I’m noticing a theme here. I was obvi on a Gothic kick in 2012) I haven’t seen the movie starring Daniel Radcliffe but I hear it is good. Goodreads imagines this book as “a ghost story written by Jane Austen.” What that means is, I will definitely like it!

Decision: Keep it

 

hill houseThe Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson – Considered a perfect work of unnerving terror. This book helped to define the genre of gothic thrillers. I can’t believe I still haven’t read it!

Decision: Keep it

 

silasUncle Silas by J. Sheridan Le Fanu – Goodreads describes this as, “One of the most significant and intriguing Gothic novels of the Victorian period and is enjoyed today as a modern psychological thriller.” I am surprised it isn’t more well known. I will probably read this along with the rest of the gothic thrillers on the list here.

Decision: Keep it

 

gablesThe House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne – Classic Gothic Romance and considered one of the “great American novels?” I must read it!

Decision: Keep it

 

marianaMariana by Susanna Kearsley –  Apparently, this involves time travel, which I am not a fan of. Buh-bye!

Decision: Let it go

 

 

gilesFlorence & Giles by John Harding – I do want to read something by John Harding, but I think this book sounds too similar to Turn of the Screw.

Decision: Let it go

 

 

grangeGrange House by Sarah Blake – I’m sure I added this because Goodreads recommended it based on the previous entries. I think I will get enough literary suspense and romance by reading the classics.

Decision: Let it go

 

 

blueeyeThe Pale Blue Eye by Louis Bayard – A story of a young cadet named Edgar Allen Poe helping solve murder mysteries. Nah.

Decision: Let it go

 

 

maryMary Reilly by Valerie Martin – Obviously, I added this because of the familiar Jekyll & Hyde references. Now that I read over it again, I don’t care anymore. I can always watch the old Julia Roberts movie instead.

Decision: Let it go

Leave a Reply

