Down the TBR Hole #4

TBR

With over 500 books on my Goodreads TBR, there is no way I can continue to add to this shelf and actually read all of the titles! I started using Goodreads over 7 years ago, and my reading life has changed quite a bit from the time I started using this tracking method. Some of them have to go…Why not make it fun? This meme was created by Lia @ Lost in a Story.

HOW IT WORKS
• Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
• Order on ascending date added.
• Take the first 5 (or more if you’re feeling adventurous) books
• Read the synopses of the books
• Decide: keep it or let it go?

THE BOOKS
chap  The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty
The 1920’s is my favorite era to read about so this cover drew me in right away. This book tells the story of a middle-aged woman who served as the chaperone to a teenage silent film star as she traveled to New York City back in the 1920’s. I hear it was made into a movie, as well. I think I will definitely read this.
Decision: Keep it

 
time in betweenThe Time in Between by María Dueñas
Part historical fiction, part romance, and part spy novel – this takes place in the months leading up to the Spanish civil war. I know nothing about this era but it sounds intriguing! Apparently it was a bestseller in Spain when it first came out.

Decision: Keep it

 
bridge

The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer
A 734 page epic love story that takes place during the WWII era. Why did I ever add this to my TBR? (I hear it was one of the “Best of 2010” so it must be good!)

Decision: Let it go

 
bridesheadBrideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
This is one of those books that I always meant to read but somehow never got around to it. It is considered one of the best books of all time. It has been made into a movie, a PBS mini-series, and apparently the Audible version is fantastic. The story is one man’s infatuation with a privileged family called the Marchmains during the Golden Age at Oxford. I’ve heard so many people say that it is one they re-read every so often.

Decision: Keep it

 
daphneDaphne by Justine Picardie
This is the imagined story of famous author, Daphne du Maurier, as she researched and wrote a novel on the life of Branwell Bronte. It starts in present day and looks back through the 1960’s.  As a fan of du Maurier’s work, I was really excited to read this when I first stumbled upon this book. However, it got mixed reviews. I can’t decide if I want to risk it or not, so I will keep it for now.

Decision: Keep it

 
age of desireThe Age of Desire by Jennie Fields
A romance featuring Edith Wharton? Yes, please! (and I don’t even like romance)

Decision: Keep it

 

 

 
circles of time

Circles of Time by Philip Rock
I remember adding this back in 2012 at the height of the Downton Abbey craze. It is actually part of the Abingdon Pryory trilogy. Set in 1921, it is compared to the Downton drama series. I don’t think I need any more of that in my reading life.

Decision: Let it go

 
seanceThe Séance by John Harwood
A gothic mystery set in the 1880’s. It sounds like so many other stories I’ve read. Just going by the Goodreads ratings, I think I’ll let it go.

Decision: Let it go

 

 

 
instruments darknessInstruments of Darkness by Imogen Robertson
I have no memory of adding this. It is a detective duo murder mystery set in 1780. Gonna have to pass.

Decision: Let it go

 

 

 

doon with death
From Doon with Death by Ruth Rendell
Oh, Ruth Rendell. Crime legend. Master of mystery writing. Your old fashioned style of writing is just not my thing. I haven’t read this first book in the Inspector Wexford series, but I have read others and I just couldn’t get into it.

Decision: Let it go

 

Leave a Reply

